Governing Body

Welcome to the governors’ page for Lee On The Solent Infant School’s web site

Our school’s governing body is responsible, as a group, for helping the school to provide the best possible education for our pupils.

There are regular meetings, minimum twice a term, for the whole governing body to take the strategic decisions about the operation and development of the school this is done through monitoring, appraising and, through discussion, advising the school on all aspects of school management.

Some of the key governing responsibilities include;

  • Ensuring delivery of the National Curriculum
  • Approving the school’s policies
  • Making staff appointments
  • Deciding how the allocated budget should be spent
  • Responding to formal inspection

This list is not exhaustive by any means, and the governing body receives an enormous amount of professional help and guidance from the Head to assist in the decisions we have to make. Most of the decisions on the day to day running of the school are taken by the Head, who is, after all, the expert we chose to do just that.

The Governors try to get involved in school life as much as possible with regular time in school and attendance at school events, make sure you come up to say hello at the next event.

We encourage you to support the school and your children’s education. The support can be in attending events or indeed helping FLIS (Friends Of Lee Infant School) in organising such events. The greatest support of all is showing an interest in your child’s school life and offering positive encouragement. Together we can raise LOSIS standards higher still and achieve greater success, all ideas are welcome so please feel free to contact us via the school office.

Full training, both on and off-line, covering a wide range of school matters is provided by the school to support the Governors in role.

Lee Infant School Governors

 Governor Role  Name  Key Governor Responsibilities
 Parent Governor  Vicki Lowe Chair of Governors/Pay Committee/Focus Team
Co-opted Governor  Revdr. Paul Chamberlain Vice Chair/Safeguarding/Resource and Finance/Pay Committee
 Parent Governor  Simon Tripp HT Performance  Management/Health and Safety/Finance and Resources
 Parent Governor  Graeme Orton
 Parent Governor  Vacancy
 Co-opted Governor  Melissa Wenham HT Performance  Management/Curriculum
 Parent Governor  Justin Capps  H & S/TLG
 LEA Governor  Liz Cumming SEN/Safeguarding
 Co-opted Governor  Vacancy Chair of Resource/Finance/Pay Committee
 Co-opted Governor  Lorna Mcqueen
 Co-opted Governor  Vacancy Curriculum/Marketing
 Headteacher  Allyson George Headteacher
 Staff Governor  Vacancy Curriculum
 Staff Governor  Michele Dewey Chair of Curriculum/Assessment  and Levels
 Associate Governor  Vacancy
 Associate Governor  Lea Ann Smith
 Clerk (HCC)  Bridget Dean


Lee-on-the-Solent Infant School   Governors’ Details

Name Category Appointed by

Term of Office

(no. of years & end date)

Committee membership Responsibilities

Voting Rights

(if Associate Member)

Phillip Broome Co-opted FGB 4 24/11/2018 Pay Resources & Finance
Paul Chamberlain Co-opted FGB 4 24/11/2018 Pay  Vice Chair
Justin Capps Parent Parents 4 20/10/2019 H & S
Graeme Orton Parent Parents 4 07/12/2019
Liz Cumming Authority Local Councillor 4 11/02/2019 SEN, Safeguarding
Michelle Dewey Co-opted FGB 4 24/11/2018 Curriculum
Allyson George Head Teacher Ex-Officio 4  Ex-officio
Nicola Hewitt Associate FGB 4 16/06/2019 Non-voting
Lea Ann Hughes Parent Parents 4 08/07/2017 Pay
Vicki Lowe Parent Parents 4 08/07/2017 Pay  Chair
Rebecca Paterson Co-opted FGB 4 24/11/2018  Marketing
Nadine Ricketts Staff Staff 4 16/03/2019  SEN
Simon Tripp Co-opted FGB 4 10/02/2019 HT Performance  Finance & Resources
Melissa Wenham Co-opted FGB 4 10/02/2019 HT Performance
Louise Courtney  Co-opted  FGB  4  07/12/2015    HT – P.Management
Emma Barnes Staff Staff 4 17/03/2015
Matthew Blake Parent Parents 4 16/09/2015
Anthony Tew Parent Parents 4 15/01/2018 DTG, Assessment & levels  


Lee-on-the-Solent Infant School   Register of Governors’ Interests


Name of Business

Including governor elsewhere, related / married to member of staff, employed at school

Nature of Business Nature of Interest Date of Appointment or Acquisition Date of Cessation of Interest Date of Entry
Phillip Broome
Justin Capps
Paul Chamberlain
Graeme Orton
Liz Cumming
Michelle Dewey  ELSA/LSA School Staff/Support
Allyson George Headteacher School Headteacher
Nicola Hewitt Clerical – Bay House School School Staff/Support
Lea Ann Hughes
Vicki Lowe
Rebecca Paterson
Nadine Ricketts Teacher/SENCo/Inclusion School Staff/Teacher
Simon Tripp
Melissa Wenham
Louise Courtney
Emma Barnes Teaching Staff School Staff/Teacher
Matthew Blake
Anthony Tew



Lee-on-the-Solent Infant School   Governor Attendance Record for the Academic Year 2014-15

Name Number of meetings should have attended Number of meetings attended Attendance rate           (%) Number of meetings should have attended Number of meetings attended Attendance rate              (%) Number of meetings should have attended Number of meetings attended Attendance rate           (%)
Phillip Broome 7 6 86%
Paul Chamberlain  8  7 88%
Lou Courtney  9  7  78%
Liz Cumming  6  3  50%
Michelle Dewey  9  7  78%
Allyson George  9  9 100%
Nicola Hewitt  8  1  13%
Lea Ann Hughes  9  8  89%
Vicki Lowe  9  9 100%
Rebecca Paterson  7  6  86%
Nadine Ricketts  3  3 100%
Anthony Tew  8  8 100%
Simon Tripp  4  3  75%
Melissa Wenham  4  3 75%
Gareth Weller 9 0 0%  
Emma Barnes 5 4 80%  
Matthew Blake 9 4 44%